Monday, August 3, 2009


Just a week after being named the 2009 Preseason Offensive Player of the Year in the Big Ten, Ohio State sophomore quarterback, Terrelle Pryor, was given another huge vote of confidence on Monday, as the 6-6, 240-pound Buckeye star was named to the Davey O'Brien Award watch list.

The award is given each year by the Davey O'Brien Foundation to the top quarterback in the nation.

Pryor, who helped lead the Buckeyes to an 8-1 record as a starter in 2008, is one of 33 collegiate signal callers on the list of nominees.

Semifinalists will be announced on October 26; Finalists November 23; and the winner December 10. The O'Brien Selection Committee is asked to evaluate each candidate on the criteria of quarterback skills and athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship.

The award will be announced on the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN (Dec. 10).

The past three winners of the award — Ohio State's Troy Smith (2006), Florida's Tim Tebow (2007) and Oklahoma's Sam Bradford — have gone on to win the Heisman Trophy in their respective year's.