Monday, December 6, 2010


Ohio State senior receiver Dane Sanzenbacher was named team MVP. (The Buckeye Times/Darla Dunkle-Hudnell)
COLUMBUS — Ohio State senior wide receiver Dane Sanzenbacher was voted as the Buckeyes Most Valuable Player by the members of the OSU football team on Sunday afternoon, at their annual banquet at the Ohio Union in Columbus.

Sanzenbacher also received the Paul Warfield Award for most outstanding receiver, as well as the Bo Rein Award for the Buckeyes' most inspirational player.

Ohio State head coach Jim Tressel said it's the first time he can remember that one player took both the MVP and inspirational player honors.

"I've been a head coach for 25 years and in all 25 years we've had the team vote on the MVP and the most inspirational player, and it has always ended up being clearly two different guys," Tressel said Sunday. "This is the first time in 25 years it was a landslide for the same guy.

"I've never seen anything like that."

Sanzenbacher had a remarkable 2010 regular season, recording team-highs in receptions (52), receiving yards (889) and touchdowns catches (10). The senior wideout from Toledo also garnered first-team all-Big Ten honors this season.

"For Dane to not only have been recognized for his great play on the field as an MVP, but also the fact that he inspired guys through just who he is," Tressel said. "That just tells you how extraordinary Dane Sanzenbacher is."

The Archie Griffin Award for the most outstanding offensive player went to junior quarterback Terrelle Pryor, while senior defensive end Cameron Heyward was given the Bill Willis Award for most outstanding player on defense.

Other award winners are listed below ...

Jake McQuaide (John Galbreath, academics)
Corey "Philly" Brown (first-year offensive player)
Johnathan Hankins (first-year defensive player)
Devin Barclay (Ike Kelley, special teams standout)
Ross Homan, Brian Rolle (Randy Gradishar, linebacker)
Dan "Boom" Herron (Rex Kern, outstanding offensive back)
Chimdi Chekwa, Jermale Hines (Arnie Chonko, defensive back)
Justin Boren, Bryant Browning (Jim Parker, offensive lineman)
Andrew Sweat (SAE, Homecoming game standout)
Brandon Saine, Aaron Gant (Jim Marshall Warrior)
Dexter Larimore (Jack Stephenson, defensive lineman)
Jermale Hines (W.W. Hayes, outstanding player vs. Michigan)