Friday, December 10, 2010


Denard Robinson (16) wins Tribune Silver Football. (The Buckeye Times/Darla Dunkle-Hudnell)
CHICAGO — Michigan quarterback Denard Robinson was named the winner of the Tribune Silver Football on Friday, an award given annually to the Big Ten's most outstanding football player.

The sophomore Robinson, who amassed 3,959 total yards (third in FBS) and 37 touchdowns this season for the Wolverines, narrowly beat out Ohio State junior quarterback Terrelle Pryor for the award. Each player received three first-place votes, but Robinson nabbed two second-place votes to Pryor's one.

The award is voted on by the Big Ten coaches. The coaches cannot vote for one of their own players.

Purdue defensive end Ryan Kerrigan finished third in the voting.

CHEKWA HONORED ... Ohio State senior cornerback Chimdi Chekwa was named to the 2010 Walter Camp All-American squad as a second team selection.

Chekwa finished the regular season with a team-high three interceptions, as well as 42 tackles and two forced fumbles for the No. 6 Buckeyes (11-1, 7-1 Big Ten).

Chekwa was named first team All-Big Ten this season and was a semifinalist for the Jim Thorpe Award, given to the nation's best defensive back.